Bloom's Taxonomy of Educational Objectives

In 1956, psychologist Benjamin Bloom released Taxonomy of Educational Objectives, which provided a rubric or hierarchy of educational objectives ordered by complexity. "Bloom's Taxonomy" (as it is usually called) became a tool for many  educators and learners to understand the levels of complexity of learning. Revised in 2001, Bloom's Taxonomy is comprised of six levels from least complex to most complex: Remembering, Understanding, Applying, Analyzing, Evaluating, and Creating. By understanding Bloom's Taxonomy, learners can understand better to assess their own learning with the target goal to master the lowest level of complexity (Remembering) and learn our way up to the highest level of complexity (Creating). It is important to note that no one level is more important than other levels, rather they require different degrees of comprehension and cognition to be completed. A good starting point for learning is with remembering and understanding and developing skills to later evaluate and create. Bloom's Taxonomy is particularly useful in developing educational strategies for developing skills.

Most Popular Plants

Graptophyllum pictum (Caricature Plant)

Bucida buceras 'Variegated' (Dwarf Variegated Geometry Tree)

Ficus microcarpa var. crassifolia (Wax Fig)

Pseuderanthemum carruthersii var. carruthersii (Variegated False Eranthemum)

Breynia disticha (Snow Bush)

Jatropha integerrima (Peregrina)